Scientific Advisory Committee

Membership Qualifications:

Individuals nominated by the Board of Managers and Director with expertise in the following areas:

  • Postmortem tissue research
  • Genetic and molecular profiling
  • Clinical phenotyping
  • Repository management or brain banking
  • Informatics/IT

Additional members may include those with the following qualifications:

  • Scientific excellence
  • Member of the families communities
  • Bioethicist


  • Develop, review and/or recommend best practices in brain banking
  • Review progress of network operations and activities – provide assessment to Board of Managers
  • Identify and recommend scientific and technical opportunities
  • Assist in development of network directed research projects
  • Assist with identification and recruitment of new network Nodes and/or candidates for staffing
  • Review Director

Current Members:

Edwin H. Cook Jr., M.D.
Earl M Bane Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Center for Neurodevelopmental Disorders
Director, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
University of Illinois at Chicago

F. Daniel Davis, Ph.D.
Director, Bioethics
Geisinger Health System

Story Landis, Ph.D.
Director (Retired)
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and
Stroke (NINDS)

David A Lewis, M.D.
Thomas Detre Endowed Chair in Academic Psychiatry
Chairman, Department of Psychiatry
Medical Director and Director of Research, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Director, Translational Neuroscience Program
Director, NIMH Conte Center for Translational Mental Health Research
University of Pittsburgh

Christopher A. Walsh, M.D., Ph.D.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Chief, Division of Genetics and Genomics, Boston
Children’s Hospital Bullard Professor of Pediatrics
and Neurology, Harvard Medical School


Scientific Review Committee

Membership Qualifications:

  • Scientists with expertise in neuropathology, neuroanatomy and genetics. Selection by Director, with advice from Steering Committee and with approval from Scientific Advisory Committee and the Board of Managers of Foundation Associates, LLC.


  • Review, approve, and prioritize applications for tissue based on scientific merit and adherence to the mission of Autism BrainNet.

Current Members

Brett S. Abrahams, Ph.D.
Director and Head, Pre-Clinical Biology, Ovid Therapeutics

Eric Morrow, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior and the Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry, Brown University

Jean Paul Vonsattel, M.D.
Director, New York Brain Bank, Professor, Department of Pathology and Cell Biology, Columbia University

Maree Webster, Ph.D.
Director, Stanley Medical Research Institute Laboratory of Brain Research, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Keith Young, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, Texas A&M Health Science Center